Win win win

Everyone’s a winner with the Tax Shelter.

Promotional communication

Developing Belgium’s audiovisual sector

Developing Belgium’s audiovisual sector

Since 2003, the Tax Shelter mechanism has enjoyed uninterrupted success, with thousands of Belgian firms using it for operations worth around 200 million euros per year. The funds gathered from Belgian companies are used to finance Belgian or European films which incur production expenditure in Belgium.

The Tax Shelter’s positive economic impact is as clear for investors as it is for the Belgian audiovisual sector, which since the law’s entry into force, has seen two-figure growth in employment and a 250% increase in the number of Belgian (co)productions.

For the government, the system’s financial efficency is tried and tested. According to a study by the Catholic University of Leuven (UCL) conducted in collaboration with SCOPE Invest, the tax breaks granted to Belgian companies are more than offset by the tax revenue generated by the production expenditure attracted to Belgium.

 

The investor, the audiovisual sector and the government… Everyone’s a winner with the Tax Shelter!

Positive spin-offs for the Belgian economy

The audiovisual Tax Shelter has proven to be a big hit among investors, which is hardly surprising given the overall yield of approximately 10% net which it generates for companies which have correctly understood its benefits. Each year, a grand total of approximately half a billion euros benefits from tax exemption via this mechanism. But it’s much more than just a tax "gift" offered by the state to businesses!

The Tax Shelter also offers very attractive fiscal benefits for the public purse, which are superior to the tax "gift" granted. This positive impact is made possible by the “minimum Belgian expenditure”, which enables the government to make a profit of between 10 and 30 cents per euro invested in tax revenue (IPP & ISOC), social security contributions and VAT returns.

So the Tax Shelter clearly benefits the investing company, the audiovisual sector and the Belgian State. As a result, the system has established a sustainable place among the government’s effective fiscal measures.

Newsletter

Calculation tool

Win win win

Le Tax Shelter, tout le monde y gagne.

Développer le secteur audiovisuel en Belgique

Développer le secteur audiovisuel en Belgique

Depuis 2003, le mécanisme du Tax Shelter connait un succès ininterrompu. Des milliers d’entreprises belges y font appel chaque année pour des opérations avoisinant les 200 millions d’€ par an. Les fonds récoltés auprès des entreprises belges servent à financer des films belges ou européens dont des dépenses de production ont lieu en Belgique.

L'impact économique positif du Tax Shelter est évident pour les investisseurs comme pour le secteur audiovisuel belge qui a vu par exemple, depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la loi, une croissance à deux chiffres de l'emploi dans son secteur et un nombre de (co)productions belges multiplié par 2,5.

Le mécanisme a aussi définitivement prouvé son efficacité financière pour l’Etat. Selon une étude de l’Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) réalisée en collaboration avec SCOPE Invest, l’avantage fiscal accordé aux entreprises belges est plus que compensé par les recettes fiscales issues des dépenses de production attirées en Belgique.

 

L'investisseur, le secteur audiovisuel et l'Etat, tout le monde y gagne avec le Tax Shelter!

Des retombées positives pour l’économie belge

Le Tax Shelter audiovisuel connait un franc succès auprès des investisseurs. Normal, vu le rendement global de près de 10% net qu'il génère au profit des entreprises qui ont bien compris son intérêt. Chaque année, c'est un demi-milliard d'€ environ qui bénéficie d'une exonération d'impôts via ce mécanisme. Mais il ne s’agit pas uniquement d’un "cadeau" fiscal offert par l'Etat aux entreprises !

Le Tax Shelter offre en plus des retombées fiscales très intéressantes pour le Trésor public qui sont supérieures au "cadeau" fiscal consenti. Cet impact positif est rendu possible grâce aux «dépenses belges minimum» qui permettent à l’Etat de faire un bénéfice de 10 à 30 cents par euro investi en recettes fiscales (IPP & ISOC), cotisations sociales et rentrées TVA.

Le Tax Shelter bénéficie donc à la société qui investit, au secteur audiovisuel et à l'Etat belge. Ainsi, en ayant démontré son impact positif pour ses trois intervenants, le mécanisme a trouvé sa place durable parmi les mesures fiscales efficaces.

Newsletter

Outil de calcul